“Best” depends on who will use the bed and how. Instead of a one-size-fits-all ranking, this guide matches beds to the needs families ask about most. We haven’t tested these beds. Specs and prices are as published by each maker on its own website, checked October 6, 2026; see how we evaluate.
Quick picks by need
There is no single best hospital bed for home. If the person qualifies for Medicare, a standard semi-electric bed from a Medicare-enrolled supplier usually costs the least; for a furniture look, help standing, couples, or a very low height, the picks below match each maker’s published specs to that need.
| Need | Pick | Why, based on published specs |
|---|---|---|
| Lowest cost if you qualify for Medicare | A standard semi-electric bed from a Medicare-enrolled supplier | You pay 20% of an approved rental of $66.21–$128.15 a month (Oct 2026) after the deductible |
| Hospital-bed features in a furniture look | Med-Mizer SelectCare | 10”–25” deck height, Trendelenburg and reverse, 600 lb safe working load, 36”–42” widths |
| Widest height range | SonderCare Aura Premium | 10”–32” platform height, tilt function, 500 lb |
| Help sitting up and standing | Med-Mizer ActiveCare | Rotating bed, 12.5”–27.5” deck height, 600 lb |
| Hi-low bed with Trendelenburg | Transfer Master Supernal 5 | 12”–24”, Trendelenburg and reverse (10°), cardiac chair |
| Lowest published starting price (furniture-style) | Transfer Master Supernal 3 Hi-Low | Starting at $3,999; twin, full, and queen |
| Queen or king, residential look | Golden Passport | 10.5”–28”, Twin XL, Queen, and King (two Twin XL) |
| Couples sharing one bed | Flexabed Hi-Low SL | Twin to Split King; 700 lb dual-occupant rating |
| Very low height | Dawn House Bed | 10”–16”; marketed as a hospital bed alternative |
Compare all eight
The table compares the eight beds on how they’re sold, sizes, height range, weight capacity, Trendelenburg, and published price.
| Bed | Sold as | Sizes | Height range* | Weight capacity | Trendelenburg | Published price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Med-Mizer SelectCare | home hospital bed | Sleeping surface 36", 39", or 42" wide | 10"–25" deck height | 600 lb maximum safe working load | Yes (Trendelenburg and reverse Trendelenburg) | $5,887 on Med-Mizer’s online store (shown against a $7,524 list price) |
| SonderCare Aura Premium 39" | home hospital bed | 39" x 79" sleeping surface (44" x 81" outside dimensions) | 10"–32" platform height | 500 lb | Yes (tilt function) | $6,999 for the Aura Premium 39"; SonderCare also lists the 48" version at $8,999 and the Companion 78" split king at $12,999 |
| Med-Mizer ActiveCare Standard | rotating hospital bed | 36" or 42" wide x 80" long | 12.5"–27.5" deck height | 600 lb maximum safe working load | Optional (Trendelenburg and reverse) | $9,682 on Med-Mizer’s online store (shown against a $14,078 list price) |
| Transfer Master Supernal 5 | hi-low adjustable bed | Twin (38" x 80"), Full (53" x 80"), Queen (60" x 80") | 12"–24" deck to floor | Twin 400 lb; Full and Queen 500 lb (evenly distributed) | Yes: Trendelenburg and reverse Trendelenburg (10°), plus cardiac chair | Starting at $6,299 |
| Transfer Master Supernal 3 Hi-Low | hi-low adjustable bed | Twin (38" x 80"), Full (53" x 80"), Queen (60" x 80") | 10.5"–20.5" deck to floor | Twin 400 lb; Full and Queen 500 lb (evenly distributed) | No (has a European-style head tilt instead) | Starting at $3,999 |
| Golden Technologies Golden Passport Hi Low Adjustable Bed | hi-low adjustable bed | Twin XL, Queen, and King (two Twin XL) | 10.5"–28" (floor to top of deck) | Not stated on the manufacturer page we checked. Ask before buying. | Reverse Trendelenburg via a head-section tilt | MSRP for base + mattress: $5,798 (Twin XL), $6,898 (Queen), $11,598 (King) |
| Flexabed Hi-Low SL | hi-low adjustable bed | Twin, Full, Queen, and Split King | 16.5"–24" to top of low-profile mattress | 400 lb single occupant; 700 lb in a dual-occupant bed, with no one occupant over 400 lb | Not listed | No price published on the manufacturer’s site |
| Dawn House Bed | hi-low adjustable bed | Twin Long (38" x 80") | 10"–16" | 750 lb, evenly distributed (all bases). Not designed to lift that weight in the head or foot section alone. | Not listed | Base listed at $3,499 (Twin Long), $3,899 (Full), $3,999 (Queen), $6,998 (Split King) during a sale through Nov 1; mattress extra |
The Medicare-covered option: a standard semi-electric bed
For many families, the best bed is the one Medicare helps pay for. A semi-electric bed has electric head and foot adjustment and a hand-cranked height. If the person meets Medicare’s criteria, including a need for frequent or immediate position changes (LCD L33820), a Medicare-enrolled supplier provides it as a rental. In October 2026, Medicare’s approved monthly rental for a semi-electric bed with rails and mattress (E0260) was $66.21 to $128.15 for months 1 to 3, depending on the area (CMS), and you pay 20% after the deductible. Find suppliers in Medicare’s directory. More in does Medicare cover hospital beds?
Picks in detail
Best for hospital-bed features in a furniture look: Med-Mizer SelectCare
- How the maker describes it
- Home hospital bed, furniture style
- Sizes
- Sleeping surface 36", 39", or 42" wide; 80" or 84" long
- Height range
- 10"–25" deck height. Deck height, without mattress, per the manufacturer.
- Weight capacity
- 600 lb maximum safe working load
- Trendelenburg
- Yes (Trendelenburg and reverse Trendelenburg)
- Published price
- $5,887 on Med-Mizer’s online store (shown against a $7,524 list price) (checked October 6, 2026)
What makes it look like furniture
- Four wood finishes: Obsidian Oak, Gray Oak, Natural Walnut, Cherry
- Concealed components
- Casters that extend at the push of a button, then stay out of sight
Notable features
- One-button chair position, independent head and knee
- Clinical-Contour surface intended to reduce sliding toward the foot
- Built-in stand assist via powered height
- Backlit pendant control with lockouts
- Options: multiple rail styles, integrated scale, under-bed lighting, battery backup
- Open under-bed clearance for patient lifts
- Therapeutic mattress options up to an 8 in. low-air-loss alternating-pressure mattress
Check before you buy
- Single-sleeper widths only (36–42 in.); no queen or couples version is listed.
- Med-Mizer lists free ground freight to the lower 48 states. Ask whether in-home setup is included.
Where to buy
Ask Med-Mizer where to buy it. We don’t have a retailer link for this bed, and that doesn’t affect its place in this guide.
Specs and price as published by Med-Mizer on its own website, checked October 6, 2026. Makers and retailers change specs and prices without notice, and a retailer’s price may differ from the maker’s, so confirm both with the seller before you buy.
Best for help sitting up and standing: Med-Mizer ActiveCare
- How the maker describes it
- Rotating medical bed
- Sizes
- 36" or 42" wide x 80" long
- Height range
- 12.5"–27.5" deck height. Deck height, without mattress, per the manufacturer.
- Weight capacity
- 600 lb maximum safe working load
- Trendelenburg
- Optional (Trendelenburg and reverse)
- Published price
- $9,682 on Med-Mizer’s online store (shown against a $14,078 list price) (checked October 6, 2026)
What makes it look like furniture
- Home-style finishes: Obsidian Oak, Gray Oak, Cherry
Notable features
- OneButtonSafeTurn: one button turns the bed into a full chair position for getting out
- Powered recliner with independent head and knee
- Head section rises to nearly 90° while rolling back in place, to reduce shear
- Built-in stand assist via powered height (12.5–27.5 in.)
- Options: night light, mobility bar, foot rails, side rails, battery backup, staff controls, 4 in. bed extender
Check before you buy
- The most expensive bed in this comparison.
- Single-sleeper widths only.
- Because the bed turns into a chair, ask Med-Mizer for the floor space it needs in its rotated position before you plan the room.
Where to buy
Specs and price as published by Med-Mizer on its own website, checked October 6, 2026. Makers and retailers change specs and prices without notice, and a retailer’s price may differ from the maker’s, so confirm both with the seller before you buy.
Best hi-low bed with Trendelenburg: Transfer Master Supernal 5
- How the maker describes it
- Adjustable bed system with all the functions of a hospital bed
- Sizes
- Twin (38" x 80"), Full (53" x 80"), Queen (60" x 80"); Dual King (two Twins side by side)
- Height range
- 12"–24" deck to floor. Deck to floor, per the manufacturer.
- Weight capacity
- Twin 400 lb; Full and Queen 500 lb (evenly distributed)
- Trendelenburg
- Yes: Trendelenburg and reverse Trendelenburg (10°), plus cardiac chair
- Published price
- Starting at $6,299 (checked October 6, 2026)
What makes it look like furniture
- Designed to hide all electrical components
- Optional cherry-finish headboard
Notable features
- Head (60°), foot (35°), hi-low, Trendelenburg, reverse Trendelenburg, cardiac chair
- Backlit wireless hand control
- Variable massage
- Compatible with most patient lift systems
- Add-ons: half rails, bamboo rail covers, battery backup
Check before you buy
- Lowest height is 12 in., higher than the Supernal 3’s 10.5 in.
- Transfer Master headboards cannot be used when two beds are pushed together as a Dual King.
Where to buy
Specs and price as published by Transfer Master on its own website, checked October 6, 2026. Makers and retailers change specs and prices without notice, and a retailer’s price may differ from the maker’s, so confirm both with the seller before you buy.
Lowest published starting price: Transfer Master Supernal 3 Hi-Low
- How the maker describes it
- Hi-low bed with hospital bed features
- Sizes
- Twin (38" x 80"), Full (53" x 80"), Queen (60" x 80"); Dual King (two Twins side by side)
- Height range
- 10.5"–20.5" deck to floor. Deck to floor, per the manufacturer. Transfer Master notes the listed height changes if casters are used.
- Weight capacity
- Twin 400 lb; Full and Queen 500 lb (evenly distributed)
- Trendelenburg
- No (has a European-style head tilt instead)
- Published price
- Starting at $3,999 (checked October 6, 2026)
What makes it look like furniture
- Designed to hide all electrical components
- Wall-hugging design keeps the nightstand within reach
- Optional cherry-finish headboard
Notable features
- Head (60°), foot (35°), and hi-low adjustment
- Variable massage
- Backlit wireless hand control
- Emergency power down
- Add-ons: half rails, bamboo rail covers, battery backup, 2.5 in. or 5 in. locking casters
Check before you buy
- No Trendelenburg. If that position matters, see the Supernal 5.
- Transfer Master headboards cannot be used when two beds are pushed together as a Dual King.
- On Transfer Master’s online shop, white-glove in-home delivery is an extra $499, or $799 with stairs.
Where to buy
Specs and price as published by Transfer Master on its own website, checked October 6, 2026. Makers and retailers change specs and prices without notice, and a retailer’s price may differ from the maker’s, so confirm both with the seller before you buy.
Best for queen or king sizes: Golden Passport
- How the maker describes it
- Hi low adjustable bed
- Sizes
- Twin XL, Queen, and King (two Twin XL)
- Height range
- 10.5"–28" (floor to top of deck). 10.5 in. is with no leg sections added; 28 in. is with all leg sections added. The powered rise itself is up to 11 in.
- Weight capacity
- Not stated on the manufacturer page we checked. Ask before buying.
- Trendelenburg
- Reverse Trendelenburg via a head-section tilt
- Published price
- MSRP for base + mattress: $5,798 (Twin XL), $6,898 (Queen), $11,598 (King) (checked October 6, 2026)
What makes it look like furniture
- Residential adjustable-base design in common bedroom sizes
- Foam mattress with a machine-washable stretch cover
- Under-bed LED lighting
Notable features
- Up to 11 in. of powered vertical rise
- 22-button wireless remote with presets (TV, Zero Gravity, Flat, Quiet Sleep) and a built-in flashlight
- Dual-zone vibrating massage
- Bluetooth app control
- Leg extensions included (2, 2.5, and 5 in.)
- Firm transfer edge on the mattress
- Split head and foot base sections for easier delivery
Check before you buy
- The 28 in. top height needs all leg extensions installed; the bed’s own powered rise is up to 11 in.
- Side rails, rail covers, and locking casters are sold separately.
- Warranty: lifetime on frame, 3 years on mechanical and electrical parts, 1 year on labor, 5 years on mattress.
Where to buy
Ask Golden Technologies where to buy it. We don’t have a retailer link for this bed, and that doesn’t affect its place in this guide.
Specs and price as published by Golden Technologies on its own website, checked October 6, 2026. Makers and retailers change specs and prices without notice, and a retailer’s price may differ from the maker’s, so confirm both with the seller before you buy.
Best for couples sharing a bed: Flexabed Hi-Low SL
- How the maker describes it
- Hi-low adjustable bed, described by Flexabed as a luxury alternative to hospital beds for home
- Sizes
- Twin, Full, Queen, and Split King; Lengths of 74, 80, or 84 in.; A king can pair one Hi-Low SL with a non-hi-low Flexabed (Premier or Value-Flex) for a partner
- Height range
- 16.5"–24" to top of low-profile mattress. With leg pads. Add 2.25 in. with casters (18.75–26.25 in.). Foundation alone: 11–18.5 in. Thicker mattresses sit higher.
- Weight capacity
- 400 lb single occupant; 700 lb in a dual-occupant bed, with no one occupant over 400 lb
- Trendelenburg
- Not listed
- Published price
- No price published on the manufacturer’s site (checked October 6, 2026)
What makes it look like furniture
- Residential mattress with a knit quilted panel
- Standard bedroom sizes and custom lengths
- A decorative headboard can be mounted on the wall behind the bed
Notable features
- Three motors: head, foot, and whole-bed height
- Head section lifts to 73°, foot to 40° (product guide)
- Wired or one-touch wireless remote
- Locking casters or stationary leg pads
- Factory-installed mounting plates for optional side rails
- Options include battery backup, under-bed lighting, Bluetooth, massage, and voice activation
- Limited lifetime warranty
Check before you buy
- Flexabed’s own product guide says a Flexabed adjustable bed “should not be considered an alternative to a hospital bed” and advises consulting a physician when health issues are involved.
- Headboards and bed frames cannot attach to the Hi-Low SL, and footboards cannot be used.
- As it rises 7.5 in., the bed also travels 7.5 in. toward the foot end, so leave room at the foot.
- Flexabed’s product guide says leg extensions cannot be used on the Hi-Low SL, while a general FAQ on its site mentions them. Confirm with the dealer.
Where to buy
Specs and price as published by Flexabed (LaFayette, Georgia) on its own website, checked October 6, 2026. Makers and retailers change specs and prices without notice, and a retailer’s price may differ from the maker’s, so confirm both with the seller before you buy.
Best for a very low height: Dawn House Bed
- How the maker describes it
- A hospital bed alternative (hi-low smart bed)
- Sizes
- Twin Long (38" x 80"); Full (54" x 75"); Queen (60" x 80"); King (76" x 80"); Split King (76" x 80", two independently adjusting halves)
- Height range
- 10"–16". Base height without legs and without mattress, per the manufacturer. Add the mattress thickness to get sleeping-surface height.
- Weight capacity
- 750 lb, evenly distributed (all bases). Not designed to lift that weight in the head or foot section alone.
- Trendelenburg
- Not listed
- Published price
- Base listed at $3,499 (Twin Long), $3,899 (Full), $3,999 (Queen), $6,998 (Split King) during a sale through Nov 1; mattress extra (checked October 9, 2026)
What makes it look like furniture
- Residential-style base in standard bedroom sizes, up to king and split king
- Optional headboard (47 in tall, 4 in deep)
- Optional single support rail instead of full side rails
Notable features
- Powered hi-low height adjustment
- Optional support rail that moves with the base
- Motion-activated under-bed LED lighting
- Passive sleep and health sensing (sleep, heart rate, respiration, snoring) through the Dawn House app
- Automatic anti-snore head raise (about 12 degrees) and rise-to-wake
- Voice control console that doubles as a wireless phone charger, plus a backlit wireless remote
- Massage with three intensity levels and a 10-minute timer
Check before you buy
- The 10–16 in. range is measured without a mattress, so the sleeping surface sits higher once the mattress is on.
- Health and app features need a smartphone and Wi-Fi.
- The Full size is 75 in. long, shorter than the other sizes.
- You are responsible for measuring hallways, stairs, and elevators. Dawn House says an order that cannot be delivered for that reason is subject to a 25% restocking fee.
- No Trendelenburg position is listed.
Where to buy
Specs and price as published by Dawn House on its own website, checked October 9, 2026. Makers and retailers change specs and prices without notice, and a retailer’s price may differ from the maker’s, so confirm both with the seller before you buy.
How to choose between them
Choose by the person’s needs first: the height range for transfers and care, a weight rating that includes the mattress, a size that fits the room and sleepers, rails made for the bed, and your budget.
- Transfers: a lower minimum height helps getting in and out; a higher maximum helps caregivers. See semi-electric vs full-electric.
- Weight: check the safe working load and whether it includes the mattress and accessories.
- Size: most of these use regular mattress sizes; see hospital bed dimensions and beds for couples.
- Rails: use only rails made for the bed and mattress; the FDA warns that not all rails, mattresses, and frames are interchangeable (FDA).
- Brand detail: our Med-Mizer guide covers every Med-Mizer model, price, warranty and return terms.
- Budget: compare with our cost guide and rent vs buy calculator.
For more on residential-looking beds, see furniture-style hospital beds and the reviews hub.
How we chose
We started from the beds in our furniture-style comparison and matched each maker’s published specifications to common needs. We didn’t test the beds, nobody paid for placement, and the order is our editorial judgment of fit, not a score. Whether a bed has a “Where to buy” link played no part in that order. Medicare figures come from CMS’s October 2026 fee schedule. Our sources are official government sources; the only seller links are labeled paid links to a retailer that shares ownership with this site.
